What I Learned from a Harley Guy

I know a guy that has pointed so many fabulous things out about people and he happens to be in the motorcycle business (sells them).  Over the years it’s been amazing how he has taught me to look at people that I would have considered oddities or ordinary for that matter to be proven very wrong.

I wish to start a series of blog topics on this subject because one blog can’t tell it all.  But to kick it off I will describe a list of characters that I have learned to love good, bad or indifferent with this Harley of a life. 

But first I will say one thing about your typical rider.  Whether your a Sturgis junkie, a weekend warrior or live in the business,  there is a CODE.  This CODE is as old fashioned as the humble hard working cowboy working on a ranch.   Throughout this blog topic I will refer to the CODE a few time to describe the values and positive energy that comes from most riders anyway.  Here is how I describe it.

  1. Your “word” is right and you live by it.  Do what you say and say what you do.
  2. Don’t lie, it never works
  3. Just cuz I’m married doesn’t mean I can’t look
  4. Hell yeah, lets go
  5. Help somebody, don’t make them ask for it
  6. Be polite and respectful always to ladies and the elderly,  the rest of the guys are fair game
  7. Work hard, play hard
  8. If you complain you shouldn’t be ridin’ now should you?
  9. Be grateful for what you got and don’t brag about it.
  10. Don’t drink and ride.  It’ll kill you.

 The characters I am referring to are real so I will “protect the innocent” with my names.

Lyle-  A wonderful shop owner that I mistook for the company janitor when I first met him years ago.  Very modest. If it wasn’t for his cunning creativity back in the 70’s changing a lawn mower shop into a HD store he wouldn’t be where he is today. 

Mickey- biker personification all the way.  He not only lives the dream he sells them.  He has a great following of biker friends and always has the most fantastic stories to tell.  Just a blast to talk to aDond probably even funner to ride with. 

Scooter-my guy I know that I described above.  One of the best talkers I know.

Rodney- Retail ridden, kinda bunchy but hilarious.  This farmer-joe type of guy must have written a dictionary of anectdotes and humorous analogies.  Strong christian family man that will do anything for you. 

Tina- A sexy little lady that likes to tease the biker boys that come to the shop.  Tina has had her own set of issues (who hasn’t?) but she was the party girl of the shop for sure.  A friend to the heart always though.

Layla- a famous store customer that has had a gender change.  What bravery and soul to do such a thing and be alright with it!

There are too many to list folks, so I will end my days chapter on What I Learned From A Harley Guy.

See more entries to come to detail a story including one of these and many other fine characters I have had the privilege of getting to know.

Keep the rubber side down!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.